top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlisa Ashouri

Hot Off the Presses

Don't you just love to read? I do! I'm a voracious reader. Three to four books a week. Concurrently, not consecutively. Not sure when I started doing this, but it's hard for me to read just one book at a time now - unless it's really interesting.

Non-fiction is my favored genre. I especially enjoy autobiographies. It's inspiring to see how people have handled challenges in their lives. History is another topic I enjoy. And, of course, I often read books on marketing, communications, sales and business.

Currently, I'm reading Malcolm Gladwell's What the Dog Saw. He writes the way I tell stories - jumping from one topic to the next and taking the long way to include additional details. As with other Gladwell books, it's a fascinating read offering insight into how advertising and marketing have changed our country in ways that I never would have considered.

The second book in my current line-up is My Fair Lazy by Jen Lancaster. It's the fourth book of hers that I've read. Reading a Jen Lancaster book is like going out to dinner with friends. Her style is personable and relatable. Plus, her books offer comic relief to some of the more serious topics I like to read.

The third book, which I just finished, is Let's Roll by Lisa Beamer, widow of 9/11 hero Todd Beamer. I was amazed by her faith, strength and resilience. She tells the heart-rending story of losing her husband without self-pity. This was one of those that I read straight through on its own.

See you at the library!

Alisa I

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Positive Spin

Good news doesn't get nearly the attention it deserves. In fact, good news rarely gets any attention at all. Newscasts are often filled with gory tales of death, destruction, and despair. It seems the

Latest reads

This week, as I do most weeks, I've read four books. The theme of this week might be thought of as triumph of the human spirit. All the tomes are works of non-fiction, which is my personal preference.

bottom of page